loveworshiplovelife


Echoes Of My Past
October 13, 2008, 7:48 am
Filed under: Friends, Personal, Pop Culture | Tags: , ,

Alright boys and girls I’ve got to set this one up. This is totally a personal blog about me today. Sorry, I usually do not focus on myself but this one I just got to share with you guys. I graduated high school in 1987.  Twenty one years ago. Back then band was the biggest part of my life. Well, I have had a friend (fellow bandmember) contact me through facebook. I haven’t heard from anyone back in those days for literally 21 years. My friend has posted a youtube video of the marching band show, which was a James Bond 007 theme back in 1987. I was the senior drum-major conducting the band (skinny guy, in white on the left). I was on the drum-major box for almost the whole show. The video is from 1987 so the quality is horrible and it is ten minutes long. Once you get through the very beginning you might want to fast forward to the end (7:55 into the video) because that, of course is the best part. On the last song, “For Your Eyes Only” we had a girl singing with us which was totally “out of the box” for a high school marching band. Anyway, I hope you enjoy as I walk down memory lane.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

CHS was one of the largest High Schools in the state of Florida in the 80s. The band that year was a power house about 250 pieces. Most of the Bands in Central Florida are not that big any more. You can also see the huge auxiliary we had. Flag Corp, Rifle Team, and Baton Majorettes.

Patrick Culler was band director in 1987 and later transferred to become the first band director at University H.S.. He passed away sometime in 00-01. His dedication to music and ability to bring out the very best in his students is now Legacy with the CHS and UHS Band programs.

Comment by Eric

when i was in band… i would have flirted with you if you were my drum major! 😉

Comment by andrealoper

That is so awesome!

Comment by Gina




Leave a Reply

