loveworshiplovelife


iPhone Update 2.0
July 11, 2008, 1:35 pm
Filed under: Personal, Pop Culture, Technology | Tags: , ,

As most everyone knows today the new iPhone went on sale. Also the new software update for existing iPhones, 2.0, was available for iPhone owners to download as well. Since I already got caught in the first round of iPhone craziness last year I decided I did not need the new 3G super fast iPhone. I knew that almost every feature of the new iPhone would be mine free of charge except for the 3G network and the GPS feature, which for me are not deal breakers.

Last year Apple had some glitches with hundreds of thousands phones being activated at the same time. You would think that Apple would learn lessons from last year’s roll out. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my iPhone but what went down today was nothing less then the powers that be at Apple not thinking this thing through. Today was a total melt down with people trying to activate their iPhones.

All new iPhones and all existing iPhone updates were routed to an activation process at the online iTunes store. This would have been ok had iTunes’ servers been able to handle the extreme volume of new activations plus the millions of existing owners downloading new software. As a result of iTunes servers not being able to handle the volume, thousands of people were left with partially updated iPhones that would not work. Unfortunately I was one of those thousands. My phone was offline for approximately 4 hours but I am back in business now. The updates are incredible but it was definitely a pain in the butt getting my phone back to operational status.

Customer service is not what it used to be and when you make a promise, you need to deliver the goods. I guess I got the goods, but not in a timely fashion, which kind of leaves a bad taste in one’s mouth. Anyway I’m glad everything works and I still LOVE my iPhone.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mine was online offline for one hour. I skept trying over and over again and it eventually worked.

I blogged about my experiences today, too. Found your blog searching for similar posts.

Comment by Donny Pauling

I love the new update and the app store! I just wish they could have added the GPS…that would be really wishful thinking though!

Comment by Monica Hunt




Leave a Reply

