loveworshiplovelife


My Fridays
April 25, 2008, 9:22 am
Filed under: Family, LOVE, Personal | Tags: , , , ,

Fridays are my day off. I, like others on the Management Team at C3 like to spend Fridays with family. Sundays are usually very busy days for us, so Fridays are pretty important days. Andrea has to work most Fridays and so I take her to work sometimes on Fridays to spend a little more time with her. Family is only second to God when it comes to our priorities in life.

Most of you probably know this, but my mom lives with Andrea & me. Right after mom moved in with us she had to give up driving because her response times and reflexes were just not where they needed to be to be safe. In fact she was in four automobile accidents within one year. Only one was her fault but her reaction times were not quick enough to avoid the others so we made the decision that she should not drive.

Because of her inability to drive she goes a little stir crazy just staying at home. During the week I have less flexibility to take her out and provide some entertainment for her, so Fridays are kind of her designated day for me to take her out so she can have some time out of the house. If Andrea is off on a Friday then that of course changes things, but for the most part Fridays are mom’s day.

As I think about Fridays and I am honest about them, sometimes it’s hard. I would love sometimes just to do whatever I wanted to do but I know that the times I spend with mom are something special that I will never get a chance to redo and I want no regrets someday when mom passes away. My parents are why I am the person that I am today. My dad went to be with Jesus eight years ago and I have no regrets. My mom is not the same person she used to be. She forgets a lot, tells the same stories over & over, can no longer cook and generally is almost totally dependent on me.

So I thank God that I still have a mom and that I am able to be a part of her life, even if it is a kind of “parental” role. I thank God for a loving wife that understands and loves my mom as much as I do. Are my Fridays as carefree as they once were? No, but I would not trade “my Fridays” for anything.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

