loveworshiplovelife


Trust
February 7, 2008, 11:42 am
Filed under: Personal | Tags: , , ,

Alright, I just deleted the blog I was writing and now I am starting over. It was actually making me depressed as I was reading it so I just thought I would chuck it and start over. My wife and my mom are sick in their beds so I am taking care of them (nurse Darrell).  I am just going to share what is rolling around in my little head this morning. I am going to talk about trust.

I have said it many times and I have heard it many times but I am going to share it none the less. Trust is a choice, and it does not come naturally. You seriously have to make a choice to trust because I just think we are products of our environments. People are flawed, none of us are perfect therefore trusting anyone, even the people closest to us is hard. That is why I think that we have such a problem trusting God because all we have to go on is experiential data from people we have interacted with, in our lives. We then equate the way God will treat us with how people have treated us. Therefore trusting God is hard. That means that trusting God is a choice.

It’s hard to make the choice because we don’t want to be hurt or let down. But God tells us in His Word that “He is a friend that sticks closer than a brother.” He also tells us that, “He will never leave or forsake us.” We also know that God is the one constant in the universe. God never changes and His Word, the Bible, is true. This makes choosing to trust Him the only logical choice to make. He never changes. His love for us never changes. His promises for us never change. In a world where nothing stays the same, He does. Because of this I choose to trust.

So in my life when I have doubts whether people love me or if they have confidence in me or if I am worthless to them I only have to look to God to know He loves me and has confidence in me and considers me worth something. Something else I know is that He understands my weaknesses and loves me in spite of it. He understands my insecurities and still loves me. He knows when I worry and believes in me even through my doubts. This sounds like someone I can trust.

Because of this, I make the choice. Trust is a choice, a conscious decision to believe in someone with the expectation that they will be there when you need them. I think God fits that definition. God, I trust you!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Darrell, this blog really encouraged me after reading it. I’ve been thinking a lot about trust these days with people in general. As we watch the news many evenings it gets me so down about people and a question that always comes to my mind is, Who can we trust? It is awesome to know that God will always be there to trust when it may seem like there are very few people you can trust. Thanks for reminding me that God is so very trustworthy in all aspects of life. Enjoy your weekend!

Comment by Stacy




Leave a Reply

